Land-Value Taxation Around the World: Studies in Economic Reform and Social Justice, 3rd Edition


This revised edition of Robert V. Andelson's Land Value Taxation Around the World is the first title in the new series 'Studies in Economic Reform and Social Justice', sponsored by The American Journal of Economics and Sociology.

Andelson has provided an interdisciplinary, international collection of essays, which has been in the making for twenty years. This is not a book on the history of economic thought but rather a book about the theory and practice of land reform and an historical summary of efforts to apply land value taxation in different countries around the world.

The collection is built around the premise that to tax an activity is to discourage it, and that when people improve land that is under their control, governments should not tax those improvements. Only when land appreciates through no effort on the part of those who manage the land should the government impose a tax. Since land is inelastic in supply, such a tax will have minimal distortionary effects on the economy. These insights are not well understood around the world but they do sometimes guide tax policy and often when they do, they produce salutory effects on economic development. Contributors to this collection argue that patterns of economic behavior are similar regardless of race, religion, or geographical location.

Robert V. Andelson is a Professor Emeritus of Philosophy at Auburn University and is a lifelong philosopher and student of the basic principles of social justice and economic reform, ultimately derived from the ideas of the great American reformer, Henry George. He has served as President of the International Union for Land-Value Taxation and Free Trade.
Foreword: Warren J. Samuels.

Preface and Acknowledgements: Robert V. Andelson.

Introduction: Robert V. Andelson.

Part I: The Ancient and Medieval World:.

1. Mesopotamia and Classical Antiquity: Michael Hudson.

2. European Feudalism from its Emergence through it's Decline: Kenneth Jupp.

Part II: The Americas:.

3. Argentina: Fernando Scornik Gerstein.

4. Canada: Garry B. Nixon.

5. Chile: John Strasma.

6. Colombia: Fernanda Furtado.

7. Jamaica and Other Caribbean States: John M. Copes and Walter Rybeck.

8. Mexico: Manuel Perlo Cohen.

9. The United States: Walter Rybeck.

Part III: Europe:.

10. Denmark: Ole Lefmann and Karsten K. Larsen.

11. Estonia: Aivar Tomson.

12. Finland: Pekka Virtanen.

13. Germany: Jurgen G. Backhaus.

14. Great Britain: Owen Connellan and Nathaniel Lichfield.

15. Hungary: Balazs Konya.

Part IV: Africa:.

16. Nations of Eastern Africa: Rexford A. Ahene.

17. Republic of South Africa: Godfrey R. A. Dunkley.

Part V: Asia:.

18. Abu Dhabi: Robert V. Andelson.

19. Republic of China (Taiwan): Alven H. S. Lam.

20. Hong Kong and Singapore: Sock-Yong Phang.

21. Japan: Y. Yamasaki and Robert V. Andelson.

22. Kiao-chau: V. G. Peterson and Tseng Hsiao.

23. Republic of Korea (South Korea): Tai-Il Lee.

24. Papau New Guinea: H. J. Manning and Ciaran O'Faircheallaigh.

Part VI: The Antipodes:.

25. Australia: Geoffrey A. Forster.

26. New Zealand: Robert D. Keall.